Washington County Board of Supervisors Appoints Campbell, White to WCSA Board of Commissioners

Aug 17, 2015 | WCSA

ABINGDON, Va. — The Washington County Board of Supervisors has appointed two new members to serve four-year terms on the Washington County Service Authority (WCSA) Board of Commissioners. As of July 1, 2015, David Campbell of Abingdon, Virginia, represents the Harrison Election District, and Mike White, also of Abingdon, represents the Madison Election District on the board.

Campbell, an Abingdon native, retired from Southern States Cooperative in 2008 after nearly 37 years of service. He serves as president of the Smyth/Washington County Cattlemen’s Association, and sits on the policy and industry advocacy board of the Virginia Cattlemen’s Association. Campbell is also a member of the Abingdon Feeder Calf Association, the Southwest Virginia Agricultural Council, the New River Valley Hereford Association, the National Cattlemen’s Beef Association, the Virginia Hereford Association and the Virginia Beef Cattle Improvement Association.

White has lived in Washington County for 50 years and is a sales representative with C.W. Williams & Co., LLC. With an extensive background in emergency services, he also serves as a firefighter and paramedic with the fire department of the Holston Army Ammunition Plant in Mt. Carmel, Tennessee, and as a paramedic at Bristol Motor Speedway. Additionally, White volunteers at the Virginia Department of Corrections and as the assistant chief of the Brumley Gap Fire Department. Since 1980, he has served with the Virginia Department of Forestry as a fire warden and strike team leader. He served as a volunteer engineer, firefighter and paramedic for 24 years at the Abingdon Fire Department.

“On behalf of WCSA and the Board of Commissioners, we welcome our two new members,” says   Kenneth Taylor, chairman of the WCSA board. “David and Mike are both well-respected leaders in Washington County, and we are confident they will be a great asset to the board as we seek to meet the water and wastewater service needs of this community.”

The WCSA Board of Commissioners is comprised of seven members who represent the Washington County election districts of Harrison, Jefferson, Madison, Monroe, Taylor, Tyler and Wilson. Campbell replaces Frank Stephon and White replaces Joe Chase. Along with Taylor, who represents the Jefferson District, board members include Devere Hutchinson (Wilson District), Jim McCall (Taylor District), Dwain Miller (Tyler District) and Mark Nelson (Monroe District)

More About WCSA

The WCSA serves approximately 21,000 water connections and approximately 2,300 wastewater connections in Washington County, Virginia, and surrounding areas. The water system consists of approximately 900 miles of water line, a 12-million-gallon-per-day surface water treatment plant, a 2.5-million-gallon-per-day membrane filtration plant, two springs, one well, 26 pump stations and 20 water storage tanks. The wastewater system consists of approximately 70 miles of wastewater collection lines, 26 lift stations and two wastewater treatment plants. For more information about WCSA, visit


For additional information, contact Robbie Cornett,

general manager, at 276-628-7151, ext. 224.



Corporate Image

Get In Touch